12
Aug
09

Plugging In…

I came across a very interesting poster recently at the TTC Finch Subway Station. Although not visually impactful, the words “plug in your headphones to hear the secret” caught my attention.

Curious, I plugged in my personal headphones and listened carefully to each of the six audio explanations—Xhosa tribesman, speed-reader, fax machine, 5-year old boy, gentleman with a heavy accent and a whale. Unfortunately, I was not able to understand any of the sound tracks to learn “how they get the caramel into the Caramilk Bar”. Still curious, I went to the advertised interactive website “still wondering.ca”. On this site I relistened to the six audio tracks and viewed the current Caramilk ads.

Although I felt a little embarrassed standing in front of an ad plugging in my earphones with people

constantly staring and walking by, this ad was successful. It made me stop, get engaged and be entertained.

How about you, have any ads caught your attention lately? If so, which ones?

Cadbury Ad

2 Responses to “Plugging In…”


  1. 1 mciao
    August 12, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    hey hey, don’t feel goofy 🙂 I would have put my headset on too! I don’t think I would have been as keen to go to the interactive website after not being able to hear the secret clearly…by then I would have been over it and on to something else. What I really want to know is did you find out “how they get the caramel in the Caramilk Bar? ciao, ciao

  2. 2 hura1989
    September 30, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    I think its absolutely genius. They are giving you the chance to figure out their secret, but not really. One of the better marketing/advertising campaigns I have seen in a while. Though the commercials are annoying, and a little creepy, kudos to Caramilk for keeping us interested.


Leave a Reply

